SARDA 2016 On-Road Electric National Championship




The 2016 season of the South African On-Road Electric National Championship is complete and Team Xray SA managed to crown 4 x SA National Champions and 4 x vice champions.


(f.l.t.r) Jason Hillcoat (Touring Modified), Shaun Schutte (Pro-stock 13.5T), André Greeff (1/12 Mod), Pedro de Gouveia (F1)


Touring Modified

Jason Hillcoat managed to defend his title with a great start to the season making it now four in a row with his Xray teammate Shaun Schutte achieving the title of vice-champion.

The top 10 for Touring Modified for 2016:

1st           Jason Hillcoat (Xray) – Champion

2nd          Shaun Schutte (Xray) – Vice Champion

3rd           Antonio Caroli (Xray)

4th           Ashley Hurley (Xray)

5th           Anderton Smith (Xray)

6th           Alex Ribeiro (Team Magic)

7th           Willie du Plooy (Xray)

8th           André Greeff (Xray)

9th           Pedro de Gouveia (Xray)

10th         Willie Noordman (Xray)



Pro-Stock (13.5T)

The competition during the season was tough with only three points separating the top two drivers. It was Shaun Schutte (Xray) who managed to take the title at the last event with Deon Gove (Xray) managing the vice-champion title.

The top 10 for Pro-Stock (13.5T) for 2016:

1st           Shaun Schutte (Xray) – Champion

2nd          Deon Gove (Xray) – Vice Champion

3nd          Jonathan Wilken (Xray)

4th           Hennie Viljoen (VBC Racing)

5th           Juan Wessels (Associated)

6th           Danie Botha (Xray)

7th           Jared Rabe (Xray)

8th           Paul van der Westhuizen (Team Magic)

9th           Michael Rabe (Xray)

10th         Fanie Viljoen Snr (VBC Racing)



1/12th Modified


Xray Teammates Shaun Schutte, Willie du Plooy, André Greeff and Willie Noordman had a great battle throughout the season but it was André Greeff who managed to win the championship with a small margin.


The top 5 for 1/12 modified for 2016:

1st           André Greeff (Xray) – Champion

2nd          Willie du Plooy (Xray) – Vice Champion

3rd           Willie Noordman (Xray)

4th           Shaun Schutte (Xray)

5th           Raymond Loots (Xray)


Formula 1 (21.5 blinky)


In the first official season of the return of F1 to the SARDA calendar, it was Xray Teammates Pedro de Gouviea, Jonathan Wilken and Tyronne Wilken who challenged for the championship. With good consistent performances in the beginning if the season Pedro managed to get a good enough lead to win the championship by round 4 already. Jonathan and Tyronne Wilken kept on developing and started competing at the end of the season.


The top 5 for F1 for 2016:

1st           Pedro de Gouveia (Xray) – Champion

2nd          Jonathan Wilken (Xray) – Vice Champion

3rd           Tyronne Wilken (Xray)

4th           Michael Rabe (Xray)

5th           Marius van Niekerk (TOP Racing)


13.5T FWD Touring

It was a father and son affair in 2016 with the Viljoens pushing each other up to the final event. It was the young Hennie Viljoen who won the championship with his father Fanie snr ending the season as vice champion.


The top 5 for 13.5T FWD Touring for 2016:

1st           Hennie Viljoen – Champion

2nd          Fanie Viljoen Snr – Vice Champion

3rd           Paul van der Westhuizen

4th           Christopher Dolphin

5th           Ben Kriegler